What keeps you up at night ?


What keeps me up ? My next step in life & how I’m going to get there. What steps do I need to take ?
And nothing will get my attention faster than pain, whether it’s psychological or physical. Thoughts are more provoking. They keep me awake more- they’re harder for me to shake
I know this- in many ways, my psyche has become more delicate over the years. I can’t talk to anyone for at least an hour before bedtime. Watching tv, even mindless shows ( which most are today anyway) or being on my computer all do the same thing. They stimulate me and I get all wound up like a little kid, then can’t fall asleep.
The worst offender of all, is either reading, listening to or watching a piece about injustice or unkindness, especially to animals.
I once unknowingly, watched no more than a graphic 10 seconds on this sick bastard who was a trainer in Tennessee and abused the sweet Tennessee Walking horse to get their gait up to win competitions. May he have a miserable rest of his life. Sorry, but I have little mercy for Hitler attitudes, whether with people or animals. He was exposed on Night-line.
The next day I had a 40 minute conversation with the D.A. there & I started a petition for the governor to make stringent laws regarding these cruel practices on Change.org. Nothing seems to get me more than cruelty to animals.
Well, cruelty to the elderly, children and vulnerable are pretty bad too. After that piece, it took a few nights for me to fall asleep without those images dominating my thoughts when I closed my eyes . I can’t watch that stuff. I can’t take in those visions. I think I am too empathic.
I pick up a book. It could be poetry, self help or non-fiction. Sometimes, immersing oneself in a good fantasy is a calming force. Reading is the drug that quiets me & stills my mind long enough to relax. So I try to keep a book next to my bed. It’s a great thing to get lost in a story. There are also no side effects or residue either. It’s the best sleep I know.

About aboomersvoice

First and foremost, I'm a baby boomer and damn proud of it. The ones reading this post survived. Some didn't..We are the generation that crashed through barriers, broke through the norm and made our own rules. We paved the way for others to follow their bliss. One of the largest breakthroughs was probably equal rights and opportunities for women. Thank you Gloria Steinem and Betty Friedan. We burned our bras, well, most of us did. We marched against politics we didn't believe in, staged protests not knowing we could easily be silenced by a bullet, experimented with drugs, meditation and guru's. We traveled with backpacks across the country and throughout the world..We had a voice. We had a choice. We had a mission. We had freedom and we were united. I am a writer, traveler, explorer, observer and participant in life. I am part of the expansion of baby boomers who still believe in the original message of peace and love. Take this journey.with me. Who knows where it will take us next ?
This entry was posted in Live your Passion. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What keeps you up at night ?

  1. Debbie Stahl says:

    We’ll here I am, it’s 2 a.m., can’t sleep, and here’s your post about what keeps you up at night. How strange. What keeps me up tonight? A corrupt district attorney who told me on the phone today that she is permitted to violate the law. And she has done so, Why? Because she’s brazen and righteous and stunningly arrogant. She justifies her breaking of the law by deciding my client is guilty before any court has determined as much…and thus in doing so destroys any ability for justice. Protecting herself from learning it’s she who is the purveyor of injustice in our world all the while wearing the cloak of hypocrisy. Assistant district attorney.
    Miss you Sandie. But we are kindred spirits on the same wavelength. Both not sleeping tonight.

    Like

    • Hi,
      Just read this. I commend you for what you do and your work. I have become cynical because I think the country has become a bunch of mercenary arrogant takers, out for themselves & their own agenda.
      I’m sickened by the politics of this country. We might as well live in a dictatorship. Mostly, I feel bad for this next generation. What kind of world are they going yo be left with ?
      Can’t you report this bitch ? And what’s her beef w/your client that she won’t even hear the case or is it about winning & furthering her career?

      Like

    • I just sent you back a long reply but don’t see it, so I hope you got it. If not, i basically said I’ve become cynical about the country & find we have z bunch of corrupt, arrogant, mercenary takers, all there for their own agenda, not ours.
      Also asked if you could report that DA bitch or hold her accountable. Is her decision based on winning & furthering her own career ? You do good work & it’s commendable. The world needs people to fight for injustice & speak for those who can not speak for themselves. XO

      Like

  2. shirleyhs says:

    It’s taken me a while to recognize my own need to prepare for sleep by staying away from screens and disturbing images. I too find poetry to be calming and almost any book other than crime stories to be a good companion at bedtime.

    I just wrote about the importance of books on my own blog. I think you would resonate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

